Monday, 17 June 2013

The Mortal Instruments

For those of you that haven't read this book series, you definitely should go and check it out. It's a really good read, and Cassandra Clare masterfully paints pictures of forbidden love, monsters, enemies, frenemies, war, and family all the while using third person omniscient, a tense that I, personally, have a lot of trouble writing in.The characters of her story are very real and very personal, so that you end up passionately hating some and equally loving others, and others you're just not sure about. The series consists of: City of Bones (soon to be a movie), City of Ashes, City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels, City of Lost Souls, and the not-yet-published City of Heavenly Fire.

What I found really awesome about this was that originally, Clare only ever planned for the books to be a trilogy. Then, due to events that Clare talks about here on her livejournal, she decided to write three more books. She's said she won't continue from there, but who knows? She might be talked into it.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Subscribe here for Email Updates!